Chicken curry


The aroma of chicken curry drifted into the badminton court—and we all agree on a cold day like today a curry would be nice!. I could not wait for the game to be over.  I hurried into Belconnen Mall to get a chicken and lemon grass. By the way, the Mall has upgraded the parking spaces–with lights indicating which spots are vacant..similar to the Canberra City Centre car park. However the 3 hour free parking is still available.
I bought the chicken from a shop that just sells chickens–fresh, roasted or deep fried. The price for 2 chickens is $8.40 or $4.80 for one..and of course they are not organic. I chose a skinny one! Lemon grass from Ziggy’s were 99 cents per stalk as compared to Coles–$2.50 . Both shops are on the ground floor of the new extended Mall.
I was going to cook the curry the “easy way”. Just throwing all the prepared ingredients into the pot–like our Cook in Rumbai used to make it.
First the wet ingredients.                           Blend onions, garlic, kencur, tumeric, belacan

Note: add more chillies if you like a hot curry. This was one was pretty mild as I used big chillies. The smaller the chillie the hotter they are. You can also add chillie powder.
Dry Ingredients–Blend in a dedicated coffee grinder.
Coriander seeds and cumin. Proportion:  more coriander seeds than cumin.
 

The blended wet ingredients and chicken
 
Rub salt on the chicken, wash and cut into big pieces.
Salt chicken and  marinate  with a dessertspoon of the blended wet ingredients.

I used 280 ml of coconut milk. I prefer the ayam brand ( not advertising). Do check the used by date as I have been caught buying rancid coconut milk. This brand seems to have no preservatives.
Place the coconut milk into the pot. Add equal amount of water and coconut milk. Add the lemon grass, blended ingredients and dry ingredients. Stir until ingredients in pot comes to a boil–this is to insure that the coconut milk does not curdle. Reduce the curry sauce until it coats the back of a spoon. This is because when you add the chicken, the chicken meat juice will increase the cooking liquid.
 

Stir chicken and simmer until cooked. I do not cover the pot when I cook curries.
If you like a more sauce in your curry–you can either–not reduce the curry sauce or add some coconut milk after the curry is cooked and bring the curry to a gentle boil.
On this occasion I made  quite  a dry curry. Lemon grass is an important ingredient in this curry. Every curry I make tastes different as I vary the basic aromatic ingredients.

