Dieci e Mezzo Restaurant, Canberra


I was meaning to check out Dieci e Mezzo since its opening and finally made it last Thursday evening.
We started with fresh bread with a glass of wine.
We were not very adventurous that evening and so ordered 2 mains.
Main 1:
Cape Grim Prime rib with mash and buttered carrots.
This was the special of the evening.
Even though the steak was cooked to order, it needed some jus or even a herb butter to go with it.  Was it worth $45.oo? Eventually, the head waiter did notice something was missing and he brought out some sour cream with chives, not with an apology but an excuse –the sour cream was on the house. Hmm!

Main 2:
8 hour braised beef short rib, mash, borlotti beans and broadbeans, peas and mint. When the dish appeared–I was wowed by the fact it was a huge chunk of meat. When I tasted it…it reminded me of Asian slow braised soul food. I could taste star anise and lemon grass in the jus. I was wondering if it was an Italian dish. It was tender and delicious .

Dessert:
We shared a “pecan and maple syrup tart, pear puree, yoghurt and verjuice sorbet”.
I was really surprised  how well  verjuice and yoghurt combined together.
We both liked the tart.

If we do return to the restaurant in the future , we would be more adventurous…order something like salad of pigs head and trotter, quail eggs with salsa verde.

