Hawker food at the Pavillion mall in Kuala Lumpur


The Pavillion mall is nestled amongst the 5 star hotels like the Westin and the Marriott. The food hall is located at the base of the mall. IMHO it is a good food mall.  My favourite stall was the Melayu & Padang

Samples of dishes sold:
Fish cooked in various methods

Vegetables , curry and deep fried tempeh

This meal of beef rendang, snake beans and rice set me back Aus$3.oo. The beef was really delicious.

This dessert is Cheng Teng. I bought them at the  “sweetspoon” stall. They sell fresh fruit and drinks as well.
Cheng Teng is made up of longans, barley, gingko nuts, white fungus and jelly and can be served both hot and cold.

My favorite snack—Youtiao or “yau ja gwai” in Cantonese (literally means fried devils). It is chinese fried cruller. Conventionally, youtiao are lightly salted and made so they can be torn lengthwise in two. Youtiao are normally eaten as an accompaniment for rice congee or soya milk. They make them on the premises and they literary sell like hot cakes. They are best when it is just out of the deep fryer. I am ashamed to say I stuffed myself sick on this snack.

See next post for more Malaysian food

