Prawn curry


I bought frozen prawns as they were on special. I have forgotten that farmed prawns have  that “farmed” taste. Anyway I thought if I made a curry and drown them in spices , it would mask the taste.
When we were in Indonesia, our cook used to make “Kalio”(curry) The difference in her method of making curry : is the curry paste is not fried in oil but added raw to the uncooked fresh coconut milk. The curry paste is usually made up of grounded up chillies, garlic, onions and coriander seeds, candle nuts, fresh tumeric  and smashed lemon grass. The paste, lemon grass  and  salt are  added  into the pot of  fresh coconut milk. This must be stirred till it comes to a simmering point. Lower the heat, then gentle cook the mixture until it coats the back of a wooden spoon. Then  meat is added. Cook the meat until done. Curry made with freshly squeezed coconut milk is so delicious.  Cook would vary her curry sauce. She might add chillie padi (small green chillies)  instead of red chillies. This would be a green curry.

I did make a nice version of prawn curry with some spinach. Unfortunately I could taste the “farmed” prawn element.

 

 

